WYSO Competitions


The WYSO Concerto Competitions were established to feature the talents of  Youth Orchestra and Philharmonia Orchestra members.

WYSO Concerto Competitions begin on Saturday, October 15, 2016 with Youth Orchestra, followed by Philharmonia Orchestra on February 4, 2017. The approved repertoire list is now available for pick-up at rehearsal and can be accessed below.

Youth Orchestra Concerto Rep

Philharmonia Orchestra Concerto Rep

Students seeking approval of works not included on the list should contact Joe Bernstein. Completed applications for Youth Orchestra are due by October 1, 2016. Completed applications for Philharmonia Orchestra are due by January 14, 2017. A $25 application fee is required. The winners of these competitions will perform their concerti with the Philharmonia or Youth Orchestras at the Bolz Family Spring Concerts on May 21 & 22, 2016.   Honorable mention recipients will be invited to perform at either the Youth Honors or Philharmonia Honors Recitals.

Philharmonia Orchestra Concert Competition Application


2016-2017 Season Dates

October 15, 2016:  Youth Orchestra Competition
February 4, 2017:  Philharmonia Orchestra Competition

Congratulations to the winners of the 2017 Concerto Competitions!

Youth Orchestra:
Mary Deck – violin
Adam Goren – marimba
Noah Laabs – tuba
Monona Suzuki – violin

Philharmonia Orchestra:
Meera Bradley – violin


2016: Aurora Greane, violin; Tatiana Tandias, cello; Thea Valmadrid, violin; Audrianna Wu, piano; Monona Suzuki, violin; Antonio Wu, piano

2015: Adam Yeazel, saxophone; Noah Mennenga, trumpet; Maynie Bradley, violin; Theodore Liu, piano; Tina Cheng, piano

2014: Charlie Collar, piano; Savannah Albrecht, violin; Ephraim Sutherland, marimba; Isabella Wu, piano; Davis Wu, piano; Isabelle Krier, violin

2013:Vivian Wilhelms, piano; Lauren McNeel, oboe; Mathew Lee, violin; Luke Valmadrid, violin; Audrianna Wu, piano

2012:  Max Butler and Hattie Bestul, clarinet; David Cao, violin; Anthony Cudzinovic, violin; Isabella Wu, piano

2011:  Paul Sekulski, violin; Maggie Schenk, flute; Megan Whip, violin; Christie Cheng, piano


The Murphy Family Interlochen Scholarship Auditions are open to Youth Orchestra members wishing to attend the Interlochen Music Camp. The family of Stephen Murphy has endowed this scholarship for over ten years providing an opportunity for many Youth Orchestra members to attend the camp on reduced tuition. Upon acceptance to the camp, the winner will receive a $1000 scholarship and a WYSO letter of recommendation to be used in the application for further scholarship support from Interlochen. Previous winners and graduating seniors are ineligible for the competition.

The Murphy Family Interlochen Scholarship audition is held in conjunction with the Youth Orchestra Concerto Competition.

Congratulations to Anne Sophie Brilla , winner of the 2017 Murphy Interlochen Scholarship Award!

2017: Anne Sophie Brilla

2016: none

2015: Aurora Greane

2014: Ben Cordell

2013: Lauren McNeel

2012: David Cao


The Thomas Buchhauser Honors Orchestra Scholarship Competition is open to WYSO members who successfully audition into the WSMA State Honors Orchestra and are committed to playing in WYSO during the following season. The winner will receive a $250 scholarship to attend the Honors Orchestra summer camp.

A judge will choose the scholarship recipient based on merit demonstrated during the audition. Auditionees should prepare a solo not longer than ten minutes.  Accompaniment is not required but is recommended.


Congratulations to 2017 winner Aaron Pritchard!

Thomas Buchhauser WYSO Tuition Scholarship

The Thomas Buchhauser WYSO Tuition Scholarship is open to Philharmonia Orchestra members who successfully audition into WYSO the subsequent year. The member who is awarded this scholarship must demonstrate the qualities of a WYSO member which are important to Mr. Buchhauser: excellent musicianship, superb attendance, participate in their school music program, and be a consistent participant in the Musical Notes fundraising campaign.

Thomas Buchhauser was a conductor for WYSO for 30 years and he remains a fierce force for music education in Wisconsin. In addition to his 30 seasons conducting for WYSO, Mr. Buchhauser taught at Madison Memorial High School and Jefferson Middle School from 1966-1999, played cello for Madison Symphony Orchestra for nearly 20 years, and served on the faculty of the National String Workshop for ten years.

If you’d like to contribute to this award please click here.

Previous Winners:

2016: Sam Seery

2015: Clare Johnson

2014: Isabelle Krier

2013: Brigine Kane-Grade

Support WYSO

Click to make a secure online donation.

Shop at Amazon.com

Help support WYSO programs when you shop Amazon.com!

Sign up for our Emails

To receive WYSO news and updates Sign up for our newsletter